“Curated by L.G. of Thelma and the Sleaze, Alex White of White Mystery,” Stereoboard

Click here to read the full article on Stereoboard’s website.

A one-off compilation album is set to be released in response to the now defunct Burger Records sexual misconduct scandal.

Titled ‘Hands Off!’, the limited cassette will see a release on December 1 and feature songs by Courtney Barnett, Amyl and the Sniffers, L7, Kathleen Hanna, Palehound and many more. Head below for a full list of participating artists.

It was curated by L.G. of Thelma and the Sleaze, May McDonough of the Psychedelic Cherry, Alex White of White Mystery and Charlie Caplan of Tapehead City. L.G. said in a statement:

“This is a statement about there being no tolerance for predatory behaviour in the rock scene. The buck stops here. We wanted to put together something special by womxn to empower womxn, as a collective force for change. Cassette culture and DIY culture must progress and maintain its importance moving forward for a better tomorrow inclusion accessibility for all artists. Fuck boys’ clubs.”

Proceeds from the release “will be donated to profits that focus on the empowerment of young women”, with pre-orders available here.

In summer 2020, Burger Records was hit with multiple accusations of sexual assault surrounding its artists and staff. In response, the label issued an apology and revealed plans to rebrand. In July, the label abandoned the plans and shut down entirely.

‘Hands Off!’ tracklist:

Side A
1. Amyl and the Sniffers – Pleasure Forever
2. Alice Bag [ft. Kathleen Hanna and Allison Wolfe] – 77
3. White Mystery – Good Girl
4. L7 – Fast And Frightening
5. The May Company – The Paradox Drive Of Finite Confusion
6. Courtney Barnett – I’m Not Your Mother, I’m Not Your Bitch
7. KO Newborn – Maybe
8. Exene Cervenka – Already In Love
9. Kairos Creature Club – Voodoo Success
10. FEELS – Anyways
11. The Royal They – C.N.T.

Side B
12. Palehound – Killer
13. Groupie – Poor You
14. Thelma and the Sleaze – In Prison
15. Shadow Show – The Alchemist
16. Blacker Face – Punk Song
17. Krystal Metcalfe – Fearless
18. Gymshorts – You Blew It
19. Clickbait – Heat!
20. The Black Tones – Mama! There’s A Spider in My Room!
21. Karen Meat – Synthetic
22. The Exbats – One Foot in the Light

By submitting a comment here you grant White Mystery a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

Posted in Colaboration, Events, In the Moment, Press Tags: , , , , , ,